Ceramics for energy conversion and storage

Symposium organizer

Olivier Guillon

Local symposium organizer

Federico Smeacetto

This symposium will cover ceramic and glass materials that are crucial for the development of energy conversion and storage technologies, such as:

  • Power generation (high temperature coatings and ceramic matrix composites for gas turbines, materials for nuclear fission and fusion reactors and waste confinement, heat storage and exchange, absorbers for solar thermal energy)
  • Energy harvesting (thermoelectrics, photovoltaics, solar fuels/artificial photosynthesis)
  • Electrochemical applications (ionic and electronic conductors for gas separation membranes and catalytic membrane reactors, solid oxide cells including high temperature electrolysis, low and high temperature batteries)

Contributions highlighting new materials, processing-microstructure-properties relationships for these materials and their integration and functionality in devices are welcome. Specific components include electrodes, electrolytes, electrochemical membranes, catalysts, substrates, seals, interconnects or interfacial layers. Testing of single components, modules, stacksis also considered within the scope of this symposium.
Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • High-temperature materials for gas turbines
  • Concentrated solar power
  • Nuclear fission and fusion
  • Photovoltaics and photocatalytic materials
  • Thermoelectric materials
  • Oxygen and hydrogen transport membranes
  • Carbon capture and utilization
  • Chemical energy carriers
  • Solid oxide fuel cells
  • High-temperature electrolysis
  • Li- and Na-ion batteries, including solid state
  • Supercapacitors

Symposium organizer
Olivier Guillon (Jülich Research Centre, DE)
Local symposium organizer
Federico Smeacetto (Polytechnic University of Turin, IT)

Symposium Co-organizers
Pierre-Marie Geffroy (University of Limoges, FR)
Charles Lewinsohn (CoorsTek, Colorado, US)
Glenn C. Mather (CSIC,ES)
Mike J. Reece (Queen Mary University London, UK)
Tae Ho Shin (Korea Institute of Ceramic Engineering and Technology, KR)
Peter van Hendriksen (Technical University of Denmark, DK)